Archived Forums

View latest posts View active forum

Job security?

NannyJ May 3, 2013 13:01
Hi, I''m new on here! I am 33 and single and I am considering adoption. It will be at least a year before I apply as I have some debts to pay off and will finally finish a loan it feels like iv had forever! So at the moment I am just trying to do everything I can and think of everything to best prepare. Iv always wanted to adopt for as long as I can remember and since I still haven''t found mr. Right it seems like the right thing to do. I work as a nanny, which is the basis of my question... I love my job and can''t imagine doing anything else, however, I understand that it is a job with a time limit, children grow up and don''t need me anymore! So I''m worried that this would go against me in being accepted to adopt. Could anyone give me any advice, those of you who''ve been through the process, what kind of things do they expect with regards to work?Hope someone can help! Thanks :D
Edited 17/02/2021
Serrakunda May 3, 2013 14:34
Hi and welcomeI'm not sure anyone has total job security anymore and hopefully SWs are recognising thatthe thing that springs to my mind for you is how would you finance time off when you have a child placed? Would your employer give you adoption leave and pay you? Will they take you back, what about child care for your child when you are workingIf you think its going to be a year before you apply then maybe you could think about other jobs involving childrenWhat you will need to demonstrate to SW is that you have the finacial capacity to raise a child, that you have a plan in case of unemployment. Dont forget that once placed you may also be entitled to benefit such as adoption allowance, tax credits etcGood luck, I'm sure your job experience will stand you in good stead
Edited 17/02/2021
sooz May 3, 2013 16:40
My first thought was changing to childminding to fit around your prospective lo? X
Edited 17/02/2021
NannyJ May 3, 2013 18:42